Drought news: Five San Luis Valley counties get drought disaster designation


From The Pueblo Chieftain (Matt Hildner):

[U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack] notified Gov. John Hickenlooper Friday of the designations, which also included the naming of nine other counties as contiguous disaster areas and also eligible for aid. The declaration makes producers eligible to apply for Farm Service Agency emergency loans and for the Supplemental Revenue Assistance Payments Program.

The five valley counties include Alamosa, Conejos, Costilla, Rio Grande and Saguache. According to the U.S. Drought Monitor, sections of Alamosa, Conejos, Costilla and Rio Grande are in exceptional drought, a listing that’s only matched in Colorado by Baca County.

Leave a Reply