Colorado Water Conservation Board: Geoff Blakeslee named as new chairman

A picture named bacanationalwildliferefuge.jpg

From the Pueblo Chieftain (Chris Woodka):

Geoff Blakeslee, a Steamboat Springs ranch operator, was elected chairman, and Eric Wilkinson, executive director of the Northern Colorado Water Conservancy District was elected vice-chairman.

Gunnison lawyer John McClow was sworn in as a new board member by Colorado Attorney General John Suthers. Blakeslee and Wilkinson both commended outgoing chairman Travis Smith, a Del Norte rancher, for his two years of leadership on the board…

Smith, representing the Rio Grande, is considered to be from the Eastern Slope, although Wilkinson quipped it should be called the “South Slope.” Carl Trick, repre- senting the North Platte watershed, and Wilkinson were reappointed to the board and sworn in Tuesday. Other voting members of the CWCB are Reed Dils, Arkansas River basin; Barbara Biggs, metro area; Bruce Whitehead, Southwestern Colorado; and John Redifer, Colorado River basin. Harris Sherman, executive director of the Colorado Department of Natural Resources is an ex-officio voting member.

More Coyote Gulch coverage here.

Leave a Reply