Colorado Water Conservation Board appointments

A picture named grandlake.jpg

From the Colorado Independent (Scot Kersgaard):

The members will serve effective March 3, 2011, and the appointments are dependent upon Senate confirmation. The members appointed are:

· Russ George, Grand Junction (R), term to expire on 02-12-13

· Alan C. Hamel, Pueblo (R), term to expire on 02-12-14

· April D. Montgomery, Norwood (D), term to expire on 02-12-14

· Travis D. Smith, Del Norte, (R), term to expire 02-12-14

More coverage from Chris Woodka writing for The Pueblo Chieftain. From the article:

Alan Hamel, executive director of the Pueblo Board of Water Works, was appointed to the Colorado Water Conservation Board on Tuesday by Gov. John Hickenlooper. Hamel, who previously served on the board from 1994 to 1999 and was its vice-chairman, will represent the Arkansas River basin. Appointments are for three-year terms.

Travis Smith, superintendent of the San Luis Valley Irrigation District, was reappointed to his third term representing the Rio Grande basin on the CWCB. Smith chaired the board in 2007-08…

“I look forward to moving the basin and the state forward. High in my priorities will be working on shared use of water to protect our part of the state,” [Hamel] added…

[Hamel] also is a member of the Front Range Water Council, a group of the state’s largest urban water suppliers who import water from the Western Slope.

Hickenlooper also named Russ George of Grand Junction to fill the term of John Redifer as the Colorado River basin representative. George was an architect of the Interbasin Compact Committee process while he was director of the Department of Natural Resources.

April Montgomery, a Norwood attorney, joined the CWCB in 2009 and was appointed to her first full term representing the Southwest corner of the state.

More CWCB coverage here.

Leave a Reply