Upper Arkansas River Water Conservancy District board meeting recap: Glenn Everett, the last remaining original member of the district, makes way for new board

A picture named upperarkansasvalley.jpg

Salida City Councilman Jay Moore was appointed to fill the Division 2 (School District R-32-J) directorship vacated by Everett. Moore and three re-appointed directors were sworn in at the meeting.

The re-appointed directors are:

• Tim Canterbury, Division 1 – area encompassed by School District RE-3.

• Bob Senderhauf, Division 4 – Custer County.

• John Sandefur, Division 6, Seat B – area encompassed by School District RE-2, excluding the part of RE-2 within Custer County.

After the swearing in, Bob Senderhauf was elected chairman, Tim Canterbury was elected vice chairman, Greg Felt was re-elected secretary, and Jim McCormick was re-elected treasurer. The new officers all expressed appreciation for Everett’s service to the conservancy district…

District Manager Terry Scanga discussed preliminary efforts to form a coalition in the Upper Arkansas Valley to construct new water storage vessels or enlarge existing ones. “It’s time to formalize that coalition and move forward,” Scanga said, based on the need for augmentation plans in the upper Arkansas basin.

More Upper Arkansas River Water Conservancy District coverage here.

Leave a Reply