The Colorado Water Congress Wayne Aspinall “Water Leader of the Year” award goes to Bill Trampe

Bill Trampe via the Colorado River District
Bill Trampe via the Colorado Water Conservation Board

This year’s winner is Bill Trampe. Here’s the bio from the Colorado River District:

“I’m looking out and see a whole lot of people who deserve it more than I do…I hope I can live up to it.” — Bill Trampe

Bill Trampe represents Gunnison County. He served as president of the Colorado River District Board in 2006 and 2007. Upon serving out his term limit, he was designated by the board in 2008 to continue key negotiator roles he had performed in the Black Canyon of the Gunnison reserved federal water rights case and the Colorado River Basin Proposal on water supply solutions.

Mr. Trampe is a lifelong cattle rancher who has coupled his everyday experiences in water with involvement in water organizations. Mr. Trampe has a strong interest in natural resource issues, quality of life issues and the sustainability of communities whose economies depend on water.

Mr. Trampe was a founding member of the Gunnison Ranchland Conservation Legacy and served on the Upper Gunnison River Water Conservancy District Board.

Mr. Trampe is participating in the state’s Water for the 21st Century (HB1177) process, sitting on the Gunnison River Basin Roundtable.

Mr. Trampe’s current term expires January 2015.

In 2012 Mr. Trampe authored the paper “Risk Assessment Scenario for Portfolio Tool” to accompany the Gunnison Basin Roundtable’s formal comments on “Colorado’s Water Supply Future Portfolio and Trade-off Tool.” The planning tool examines different combinations of strategies or “portfolios” for meeting the state’s future municipal and industrial water needs. Mr. Trampe’s paper outlines the basic concepts the Gunnison Basin Roundtable members have concerning procedures or a process to employ risk management in order to avoid a Colorado River Compact curtailment.

One thought on “The Colorado Water Congress Wayne Aspinall “Water Leader of the Year” award goes to Bill Trampe

Leave a Reply