Denver Water CEO earns prestigious Aspinall Award

Jim Lochhead -- photo via Westword (Alan Prendergast)
Jim Lochhead — photo via Westword (Alan Prendergast)

Here’s the release from Denver Water (Stacy Chesney):

The Colorado Water Congress awarded Jim Lochhead, Denver Water CEO/manager, the 2014 Wayne N. Aspinall “Water Leader of the Year” Award.

The Aspinall Award is given for a career of service and contribution to the water community. It is awarded to a person who has dedicated a significant part of his or her career to the advancement of the state and its programs that define the process of protecting, developing and preserving the state’s water resources.

A true statesman, Lochhead has navigated his 30-year career in the water industry by developing trust and confidence with interests throughout Colorado and the West. This characteristic ensured his leadership in the recent accomplishment of the Colorado River Cooperative Agreement which changes the way diverse interest groups cohesively manage, protect and preserve water in Colorado. Described by many as a genuine and sincere person, Lochhead has deep experience and expertise in Colorado water issues and the political process. In addition to championing regional cooperation in the water industry, Lochhead now oversees the supply of water to the 1.3 million people Denver Water serves.

Lochhead was nominated and selected for the award by the previous Aspinall Award winners and a group of Colorado Water Congress officers. Eric Wilkinson, 2011 Aspinall Award recipient, said: “Jim is very deserving of the Aspinall ‘Water Leader of the Year’ Award as he epitomizes the true intent of the award. He is a recognized and respected leader in the water community, not only in Colorado but throughout the Colorado River Basin and the West. Colorado is indebted to Jim for his exemplary service and innumerable contributions to the Colorado Water community.”

About Jim Lochhead

Jim Lochhead was appointed Denver Water’s CEO/manager in 2010. He serves on the boards of Association of Municipal Water Agencies, Water Research Foundation, Western Urban Water Coalition, Water Utility Climate Alliance, Denver Metro Chamber of Commerce and the Metro Denver Economic Development Council. He is on the Advisory Board of The Dividing the Waters Program at the National Judicial College. Prior to joining Denver Water, Lochhead was a shareholder at Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck, LLP. He served as executive director of the Colorado Department of Natural Resources from 1994 to 1998.

About the Aspinall Award

CWC presents the prestigious Wayne N. Aspinall “Water Leader of the Year” Award annually to an individual Coloradan who has long demonstrated courage, dedication, knowledge and strong leadership in the development, protection and preservation of Colorado water- those attributes possessed by Wayne N. Aspinall. The late Aspinall, a lawyer and former member of the U.S. House of Representatives, remains one of the most influential water leaders in Colorado history.

More Denver Water coverage here.

Leave a Reply