USDA Designates 64 #Colorado Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas #drought

Click the link to read the release on the USDA website:

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

According to the U.S. Drought Monitor, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Impacted Area: Colorado

Triggering Disaster: Drought

Application Deadline: Dec. 8, 2022

Primary Counties Eligible:

Click the image for a larger view.

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Arizona: Apache
Kansas: Cheyenne, Greeley, Hamilton, Morton, Sherman, Stanton, Wallace
Nebraska: Chase, Cheyenne, Deuel, Dundy, Kimball, Perkins
New Mexico: Colfax, San Juan, Union, Rio Arriba, Taos
Oklahoma: Cimarron
Utah: Daggett, Grand, San Juan, Uintah
Wyoming: Albany, Carbon, Laramie, Sweetwater

West Drought Monitor map April 19, 2022.
High Plains Drought Monitor map April 19, 2022.

Leave a Reply